Reviews

Overall Rating: 100.00%
Average Rating: 10.00/10
5.0 out of 5 stars A book written to my inner-soul!!
Soo..wonderful!
Format: Paperback
I picked up this book early in July 2009, seeking a book, a memoir, a biography of anyone living NOW that would enlighten me, motivate me, inspire me, and I came across Maryam Kabeer Faye's book, "A Journey Through 10,000 Veils". I would have to say the title and the cover attracted me first. When I began to read it..I couldn't put it down. I even got a high lighter marker to high light things that 'got me', towards the end of the book, I realized I highlighted just about the whole book!! You wouldn't believe it, but really I felt this connection w/ the author..it was as if I was reading my own Journey, just sooo many things she experienced I was like, HEYYYY I know what she's talking about! Some of the things that I have experienced were so similar to hers, places she went to, feelings she felt..my father was from Jerusalem, from a town called il Izareeya #Bethany#...when she wrote about her walks there and the connection that she had felt with Jesus, peace be upon him, especially when she was there, I totally understood her emotions. Often, I felt her words were speaking to me! I felt like this book was written just for me, for MY SOUL! I think anyone who is searching for a deeper meaning to life, a connection w/ God, for spirituality, for deep friendships for God's sake..you will really enjoy reading Journey Through 10,000 Veils.

When I was a child growing up I really felt a connection with a book called, "Are You My Mother" by P.D. Eastman. This book, "Journey Through Ten Thousand Veils" is a grown-up version to that. :)

Anyway, I just had to share w/ you all how much this book affected me! You can't imagine the great impact it had on me. I was truly sad when I completed the book b/c it felt like a dear friend departed from me.. I truly love her for God's sake..and I feel so blessed for getting an opportunity to read it...this book is a Treasure!
By Miriam Hamdan on January 4, 2010, A book written to my inner-soul!! Soo..wonde
Format: Paperback
This fascinating book made me look at my own life and how different events in life are connected and have meaning. God is communicating to us through our life. This story is amazing and true! Highly recommended for all seekers of spiritual enlightenment.
By Happy Muslim on January 7, 2010, Peace and Blessings to all..
5.0 out of 5 stars A MUST READ FOR ALL SEEKERS OF LOVE AND TRUTH!
Format: Paperback
The author is utterly extraordinary. She's a breakthrough person. A Jew who converted to Islam, and specifically Sufism,
the inner mystical dimension of Islam, she introduces to the world the true enlightened spiritual center of Islam, and her
book reflects the mystical, alchemical path to enlightenment and transformation of the Sufi Path. She reveals the universal
spiritual aspect of Islam, a religion of Peace, not war or aggression. She is a bridge between the sanctity of Judaism
and Islam, and the bridge to the sanctity of all the world's great religions. Her story must be heard. Her story and her
very Being dispels the myths so many have about Islam - only it is not the true Islam - it is an abberation that has to do with power and control. Maryam Kabir Faye's story and journey is about love, and healing, and transformation. A MUST read!
By Michael O. Schwager on October 12, 2009, A MUST READ FOR ALL SEEKERS OF LOVE AND TRUTH
5.0 out of 5 stars Someone who has been through the journey successfully. A great insight into her experiences.
I loved this book. It comes form the heart. She has written a great memoir. I was also very fortunate to meet the author, Maryam Kabeer Faye. I recommend it highly for anyone who is searching for a path that is right and very meaningful.
Following intensive research, the purchase of this book has been a part of the process of building a library of Islamic literature, that relates particularly to seeking the path of excellence in spirituality, purification of the heart, ascetism, and an appreciation and understanding of the experiences of those who have followed this very path previously. The goal, God willing, in turn is to be inspired and motivated to seek success in a journey of personal development. Hence, this book is a piece of the puzzle of the big picture. I have been very pleased with this book.
By Saalik - a traveller passing through on Ja, Someone who has been through the journey succ
5.0 out of 5 stars lucid, compelling, illuminating
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
Sister Maryam’s book is a lucid, compelling, and illuminating narrative of a contemporary American woman’s spiritual journey, motivated solely by a strong inner knowingness of divine reality and a desire to find a living master. Maryam is moved along by the spirit of guidance through beautiful, unpredictable, even dangerous situations in foreign countries, not always knowing where she was going but always trusting in the guidance. She recounts her encounters with the deep peace and beauty of Islam and her meetings with illuminated souls, leading to her eventual embrace of Islam.

One of the most moving moments is when she begins doing salat (ritual prayer) in the assembly around Sheikh Bawa Muhaiyaddeen, oblivious of the assembly, mindful only of her commitment to prayer, and finds over time a congregation building up around her exemplary prayer, and then Bawa begins teaching the group Islam before his departure from the world.

Toward the end of the book the clear and inspiring Sufi teachings flow through Sheikha Maryam, representing the deep peace, love, and unity in the One that is the true Islam, as contrasted with the murderous fanatical propaganda distorting and degrading the image of Islam in the world today. Although Maryam’s spiritual journey leads her to embrace Islam, the dynamics of her journey could be a lamp on the path of anyone truly seeking divine reality.
By Ahad Cobb on May 21, 2016, Lucid, compelling, illuminating
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
The book started out with me feeling like I am reading a story of a really daring (crazy) hippy woman and wondering to my self if I'll be able to read on. But I was curious to read on to find out where her search for truth took her, Mariam's comment's on what she learnt from different experiences in her life felt like a truth inside my heart that was given words. It opened doors to different ways of understanding and seeing things in my life.
ByTason November 28, 2012
5.0 out of 5 stars Western Woman's Spiritual Biography
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
This amazing and enlightened book belongs in the Canon of Modern Western Mystical Literature. Sheikha Maryam has written the account of her spiritual journey from California, USA and around the world .She has been blessed with meeting many of the pillars of Modern Sufism. Her book is highly readable and is more accessible than others of its genre such as Irina Tweedie's 'Daughter Of Fire'. This book blazes a trail for any seekers of wisdom in our time.
ByMunirahon September 23, 2012, Western Woman's Spiritual Biography
"REFRESHING"
Format: Paperback|Verified Purchase
Like drinking a tall glass of water after walking mile upon mile in the blazing heat, was what it felt like when I finished reading Sheikha Maryam's book, The Journey Through Ten Thousand Veils. It was refreshing and rejuvenating to my soul to be able to journey with the Sheikha on her quest through all the veils of illusion back to the "ONE". Her story shows what marvelous experiences can happen when one surrenders totally to God. I would recommend this book to anyone that doubts the power of the Unseen, and to anyone that has lost faith and waivered off the path. A must read to any seeker of TRUTH. Truely a blessing, alhamdulillah
BySoul Eternalon May 5, 2011, "REFRESHING"
5.0 out of 5 stars Spiritual Richness
Format: Paperback
I was blessed to listen to Maryam speak and then to obtain this book directly from her. I read each chapter with such relishment - I savored each time spent with her words of her story of the unique journey to spirtual certainty. I would read slowly like ingesting beautiful food. I would close the book so as to save pages for a new next reading time. I desired that my journey through her journey would last as long as possible. I felt her emotions, her longings and her realizations. Her book is a crystal clear reflection of a spiritual seekers search. As I reflected that for myself also, every odd adventure, simultaneous chapters and seeming opposite variables of my earth walk wandering in many directions was a perfect path to peace. I understand more fully now that the journey is the destination.

I will cherish this book, keep it close at hand for wonderous reminders of the true meaning of a spiritual quest. I know more now that each as each soul steps onto a holy path often as a solo pilgrim and may then chose like she and I, find within myself the Divine seed and find support and nourishment and soul fullfillment within a sacred community.
ByAlice C. Caseyon April 22, 2011, Spiritual Richness
5.0 out of 5 stars very inspiring!
I was in search for a teacher and a guide who could help me reach and connect to Allah in the rightful manner, and after reading this book, i feel like my search has finally ended, insh'Allah. I watched the interview of Sheikha Maryam Kabeer faye on tv and not only i was connected, right after the show i went online and bought this book. As i was reading through the chapters, i felt very blessed and satisfied that i bought it. Its very spritual! Loving my Creator everyday more and more has brought peace in my life, and this book is a sign for me that has inspired me to be close to my Lord even more.
Bynazon September 23, 2010, Very inspiring!

Write Reviews